Delaware back on 3-state traveler quarantine list; governor ‘mad as hell’


New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut sent Delaware back into the coronavirus traveler quarantine penalty box.

A total of 31 states, including Maryland are on the list, with Minnesota taken off. New Jersey had previously exempted commuters traveling to and from Delaware.

The 14-day  quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

Delaware. has been struggling with the 10 per 100,000 calculation.

“I’m mad as hell; It doesn’t make any sense,” Gov. John Carney said of the quarantine order. According to Carney, Delaware’s metrics are now better than last week when the state was taken off the quarantine list.


“As infection rates increase in 41 other states, our numbers continue to steadily decline, thanks to the hard work of New Yorkers and our incremental, data-driven opening,” stated New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo. “Yesterday, we had our lowest death toll since the pandemic began – and with no fatalities in New York City. While today’s numbers are encouraging, we must remain vigilant,” Cuomo said. “We are adding 10 states to the travel advisory – individuals coming from Alaska, Indiana, Delaware, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia and Washington must quarantine for 14 days. The restaurants and bars that encourage young people to congregate threaten to bring us back to the hell we experienced three months ago – yesterday, the State Liquor Authority suspended the liquor licenses of four bars and restaurants. This is a dangerous situation, and the bad operators will make it worse for themselves and everyone, so be smart, wear a mask, stay New York Tough.”

The full, updated list of states on the travel advisory is below:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin