State Treasurer to coordinate distribution of $85.6 million in Rescue Plan funds to local governments

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Delware State Treasurer Colleen Davis will aid in the distribution of  $85.6 million allocated to 55 local governments throughout Delaware under the American Rescue Plan Act.

Local funds totaling $19.53 billion from the $1.9 trillion economic stimulus package signed by President Biden will be distributed by the U.S. Treasury directly to the states for  distribution to non-county, non-metropolitan governments.

The 2020  CARES Act distributed funds to state government and large counties. In Delaware, the only county to receive funds was New Castle.

 Wilmington, Dover, and the three county governments will receive ARPA funds directly from the United States Treasury.

“We are in contact with the federal government and are putting processes in place to ensure prompt distribution of ARPA funds to non-metropolitan cities and towns in Delaware,” said Davis. “We will coordinate with local officials and make every effort to expedite the distributions so they can begin helping constituents.”

The  current timeline in ARPA calls for the federal government to release 50% of Delaware’s share of local funds (or about  $42.8 million) within 60 days of the signing of the legislation. Under ARPA, the remaining 50 percent  will be released no sooner than one year after the first disbursements are made.

“We are coordinating with the Department of Finance and the Office of Management and Budget and are committed to creating a process to streamline the payments,” Davis said. “Everyone in our office will do whatever is needed to efficiently and securely get the funds where they are needed as quickly as possible.”

Facebook Comments