Delaware has returned to the Tri-State coronavirus quarantine list.
After a couple of weeks off the list, New Jerseyagain added Delaware. New York and Connecticut are expected to follow Delaware’s lead. Commuters to and from Delaware are believed to be exempt from the New Jersey order.
The order requires travelers from Delaware to self-quarantine.
The New Jersey advisory does not apply to individuals:
- Who passed through a designated state for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
- Who are passing through New Jersey on a layover for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
- Who are traveling to New Jersey for business matters that are exempted from the application of the travel advisory.
- Who are traveling to New Jersey and work in critical infrastructure fields, such as health care and federal, state and local law enforcement. Consult with your employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance that may apply to you.
Gov. John Carney has been critical of the methodology used by the three states.
Pennsylvania somehow eludes the listing, even though its rate of positive cases is above the Delaware figure. Maryland was one of the 39 states on the list.
New Jersey and New York have a positive case percentage that is less than half of the rate of Delaware.