Personnel file: June 27, 2019


Johnson named director of Delaware Tech  Wilmington campus

Delaware Technical Community College’s Board of Trustees approved Dr. Lora A. Johnson as vice president and campus director for the Orlando J. George, Jr. Campus in Wilmington, effective June 17, 2019.


Johnson has been serving as acting vice president and campus director of the George (Wilmington) campus since July of last year. 

Currently, Johnson serves as the co-chair of the collegewide Diversity and Inclusion Committee and as the chair of the collegewide Grit Committee in order to advance these initiatives at the College. She also serves as vice chair of the Delaware Manufacturing Extension Partnership (DEMEP) board and is on the board of the Delaware State Chamber Partnership.

She holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from the University of Delaware, a master’s degree in business administration and marketing, and a doctorate in higher education and leadership from Wilmington University.

 Kane appointed to Chemours board

The Chemours Co. announced the appointment of Erin N. Kane to its board of directors.

Kane currently serves as president and chief executive officer of AdvanSix, a manufacturer of nylon 6 resin, chemical intermediates, and ammonium sulfate. She has held this position since AdvanSix spun-off from Honeywell in 2016.

Kane holds a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Chemical Engineering from Bucknell University, and also serves on the board of directors of the American Chemistry Council. 

 Kane’s appointment is effective immediately. She joins a nine-member board of directors that is now composed one-third of women.


UD names Pelesko Arts and Sciences Dean

John A. Pelesko,  who has served as interim dean of the University of Delaware College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) since September 2018, will assume that role permanently, effective July 1, UD President Dennis Assanis and Provost Robin Morgan announced.

Coons names press secretary

 Brendan Mackie has joined the office of U.S. Senator Chris Coons (D-Del.) as state press secretary, based in the Senator’s Wilmington office. Brendan is joining the office from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).

Brendan is a Delaware native, a graduate of William Penn High School and Wilmington University, an AmeriCorps alumnus, and an Army veteran who currently serves in the Delaware National Guard as a military intelligence officer.

Breakie named the chairman of Central Delaware Chamber

Chesapeake Utilities Corporation announced that Shane Breakie, assistant vice president of Chesapeake Utilities, has been named Chairman of the Central DelawareChamber of Commerce (CDCC).  Breakie’s two-year appointment is effective immediately and was announced at the CDCC’s annual Awards for Excellence Dinner in Dover. Mr. Breakie previously served as the vice chairman at the CDCC.

In his current role as Assistant Vice President of Chesapeake Utilities, Breakie is responsible for the day-to-day activities of the Company’s natural gas distribution systems on the Delmarva Peninsula. Aside from his service with the CDCC, Mr. Breakie has held other community leadership roles including President of Chesapeake’s Emergency Energy Recipient Program/Sharing Program, Board Member of the Energy Solutions Center and Past Treasurer of Connecting Generations. Breakie has 26 years with the Company.

United Way names board members

 United Way of Delaware (UWDE) recently elected eight new members to its Board of Directors, including Delaware business, academic and cultural leaders and the first representative from Salem County, New Jersey, which is now part of United Way of Delaware’s service area.

The following individuals were unanimously elected to two-year terms on the UWDE Board of Directors, effective June 13:  Betsy Amoroso, Senior Director, Corporate Communications, Mannington Mills (Salem, NJ); Dusty Blakey, Ed.D., Superintendent, Colonial School District; Karen Yeatman Browne, Vice President, Marketing & Communications, Christiana Care Health System;Jamie Clarke, Executive Director, Value-Based Care, Nemours Children’s Health System; Liz David, Project Management Leader, Performance Solutions Division, W.L. Gore & Associates; Gregory Lloyd Morris, Chief Creative Director, The Morris Project; Michele Schiavoni, Director, External Relations & Marketing, Delaware Prosperity Partnership; and Kathleen A. Shelton, Ph.D., Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, FMC Corporation.

Facebook Comments