Sussex County Council members sworn in


Members of the Sussex County Council were sworn in on Tuesday.

Douglas B. Hudson of Dagsboro was sworn in as the new 4thdistrictCouncil member, replacing retiring longtime member George B. Cole, and John L. Rieley of Millsboro was sworn in to the 5thdistrict seat, replacing one-term member Robert B. Arlett, who did not seek re-election. Row officers for Register of Wills, Recorder of Deeds and Sheriff were sworn in to new terms, as well.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, County Council selected officers for the new year, naming Councilman Michael H. Vincent of Seaford to another year as president, while choosing Councilman Irwin G. Burton III of Lewes as vice president.

As Council president, Vincent will continue to preside over all council meetings in 2019, with Burton substituting as the presiding officer anytime Vincent is unable to attend.

Council also approved J. Everett Moore Jr. to re-appointment as County Attorney. Moore serves at the pleasure of the County Council as the elected body’s chief counsel. Staff from the Moore & Rutt and Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze law firms will represent the Board of Adjustment and Planning & Zoning Commission respectively as assistant county attorneys.

The council is entirely comprised of Republicans.

Facebook Comments