Milford, Dover Downs, State Fair win annual awards from Kent County Tourism


Kent County Tourism Corporation announced its 2018 Celebration of Tourism & Luncheon Award recipients. 

The event will be held on Friday, November 9th at the Dover Downs Hotel & Casino from 11 a.m. to 2  p.m.

This year’s Luncheon will feature keynote speaker, Dave Raymond, from Raymond Entertainment Group & The Fun Department.  Dave pioneered the field of sports mascots including the Phillie Phanatic and more recently the Philadelphia Flyers Gritty. He was the original Phanatic.

New this year are two additional award categories, Village and Certified Tourism Ambassador of the Year Award. The Village of the Year Award will go to City of Milford.

In March, Kent County Tourism launched Delaware’s Quaint Villages Tourism Ambassadors Program. This multi-faceted program serves to increase tourism by inspiring front-line employees and volunteers to turn every visitor encounter into a positive experience.  When visitors have a positive experience, they are more likely to return in the future and share their experience with others.  

This year’s Certified Tourism Ambassador Award winners are: Meaghann Shaw from Hampton Inn Dover and Susan Thau from Home2 Suites. 

“Keeping with the tradition, the Tourism Person of the Year will not be announced until the day of the event,” said Wendie Vestfall, president of Kent County Tourism. “We’re excited to have this person as a part of our tourism community, always eager and willing to help our continued efforts as we grow our shared drive to bring potential visitors to the County.”

This event is open to public. Tickets are $50 per person/ $300 per table of eight may be purchased online at or by calling Kent County Tourism at 302-734-4888. Cash, check or credit cards will be accepted on the day of the event as well.

Other awards at the event:

Legacy Award: Kent County Tourism will have a special recognition program where they’ll recognize past board members for their service, time and dedication. This year’s legacy award will be given to Heather Creager (Delaware State News- 9 years in service), Jim Waddington (Kent County Government- 5 years in service), and Claudia Leister (Milford Museum-5 years in service)

  • Tourism Partner of the Year Award: Dover International Speedway 
  • Tourism Attraction of the Year Award: Delaware State Fairgrounds: 
  • Tourism Champion of the Year Award: Dover Police Department
  • Kent County Tourism Corporation (dba Delaware’s Quaint Villages) is the destination marketing organization for Kent County and its incorporated cities and towns. 
Facebook Comments