Kent County Tourism announces award winners


Kent County Tourism Corporation announced  the 2017 recipients of their Tourism Awards.

The awards  were given out at the  Celebration of Tourism Luncheon last week.

Below is the list of Tourism Award recipients:

Legacy Award presented to former Kent County Tourism Board of Directors  This year’s legacy award will be given to Anita Evans (M&T Bank), Monica Weber (Today Media), Dan Houghtaling (Delaware Tech, Retired), Zach Carter (Dover Parks & Rec), Tom Summers (Delaware Public Archives), and Dave Hill (iHEART Media). 

Tourism Partner of the Year Award: Chesapeake Utilities   Chesapeake Utilities has been a  supporter of Tourism in Kent County, having sponsored events such as Dover Days, the Amish Country Bike Tour, and the DE Beer and Wine Festival.  This year, the company became  the sponsor of the Delaware’s Quaint Villages’ Mobile Visitor Center. The goal of the center is to generate more economic impact by increasing the number of visitors to local attractions, restaurants, and retail establishments in Kent County. The vehicle is powered by natural gas.

Tourism Champion of the Year Award: Councilman Fred Neil    Neil is a long-time supporter and a strong advocate for tourism. Currently a Dover City Councilman, he serves on many boards within the county.

Tourism Attraction of the Year Award: D.E. Turf Sports Complex D.E. Turf Sports Complex hosted its first tournament in April of 2017. Since then, D.E. Turf has put the state of Delaware and Kent County in the spotlight for sports tourism. D.E. Turf has hosted many local and out-of-state tournaments, bringing in thousands of visitors to the area.

 Tourism Volunteer of the Year Award: Kristina (Kris) Mujica, Faw Casson Kris Mujica is a dedicated volunteer who is willing to lend a hand at Kent County Tourism’s three annual events.

The Delaware State News reported that  hotel executive Cindy Price was named the nonprofit group’s Tourism Person of the Year for her work in the industry.


Facebook Comments