Incyte Corp. CEO to be honored by Delaware Bio


The Delaware BioScience Association will host its 2012 Annual Awards Gala on April 16 at the DuPont Country Club, near Wilmington.

The event will honor Incyte Corporation and three individuals who have made  contributions to the state’s bioscience community.  More than 300 academic, government, and industry leaders will gather to celebrate this year’s honorees


Delaware Bio members annually honor and recognize key people and organizations that have made an impact in the Delaware bioscience community. Each of the honorees of the class of 2012 possesses a pioneering spirit prevalent in the bioscience industry,” stated Bob Dayton, president of Delaware Bio. This year’s award recipients are:Company of the Year: Incyte Corporation’s Paul A. Friedman, M.D., President and CEO. Incyte’s Jakafi™ is the first and only FDA-approved treatment for intermediate or high-risk myelofibrosis, a potentially life-threatening blood cancer.Academic Research: Noureddine Melikechi, D.Phil., Dean, College of Mathematics, Natural Sciences and Technology, Delaware State University. DSU recently announced its first-ever transfer of intellectual property to a technology company, a method created by its optics scientists for development of a device for use in hospitals and laboratories.Innovation: Charles W. Robertson, Jr., Co-founder and Chief Technology Officer, NanoDrop Technologies, Inc. NanoDrop, a leading manufacturer of micro-volume ultraviolet visible (UV-Vis) instrumentation, was acquired by ThermoFisher in October 2007.Service: J. Michael Bowman, chairman and president, Delaware Technology Park. Bowman has nurtured many successful companies in the Park and throughout Delaware and supported efforts to locate large bioscience and other technology operations in the state.

U.S. Senators Tom Carper  and Chris Coons  and Cabinet Secretary, Delaware Economic Development Office, Alan Levin, plan to participate in the Gala’s formal program.

The 2012 Delaware Bio Annual Awards Gala is made possible through generous sponsorships from VWR Scientific, the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO), AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals, Fish & Richardson, the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA), Conner Strong & Buckelew, RatnerPrestia, McCarter & English, Black Stallion Machine Works, and Armor Graphics.


Facebook Comments